10 4 13

# 7718/5

# 7718/5

19 responses to “10 4 13

    • Thanks, ehpem. I asked myself if I was given a wheel would I build a cart or a Lamborghini. I just wanted to see how far I could go without extraordinary measures within the time I had. I had a manager who liked to say “Given enough time and money and we can build anything”. Somehow, I never found that very inspirational. It lacked creativity.

      • Well, this is no handcart, that is for sure!
        I agree, that statement lacks creativity, squelches it even. And, its not even true. No more than a monkey at a typewriter can prepare a masterpiece.
        Is this a prepared font in your software, or did you just whip it up to go with this shot? I am thinking it was a pre-existing font that you tweaked quite a lot to get it looking back lit and so on. It sure works well.
        Today I took some graphically extremely simple shots (the wonders of fog). Then I spent a while manipulating them. What I realised as I tried different effects is how useful they would be as backgrounds to texts, letter heads, presentations and so on. Though I don’t have the skills to make that happen, it gives me lots of ideas. And I think they are very sympathetic to what you are doing.

        • That manager I mentioned went on to become vice-president of the company so he must have been doing something right.
          The font was a pre-existing font but it had to be “finessed” to fill the frame because fonts don’t want to be this big. The glow came from a layer style applied after the font was in place. It’s a skill I tried to pick up to do the Emo movie posters, magazine covers and CD cover and some work for the Museum. I don’t do much with it anymore, though.
          I think you’ll find the the simple shots, like your fog photos, will make an excellent learning experience regarding manipulations. As the nights get longer (and colder) I tend to play indoors more and it really isn’t boring until I run out of ideas.

          • And, how is that company doing now?

            Finessed is another word for making-it-great. And this winter looks to be a busy one I as transition into a new work environment, so I might not have a lot of time for learning image manipulations, unless a bit of procrastination is called for, or no one wants to hire me.

            Do you run out of ideas very often? Hard to imagine, but I guess it has to happen sometimes.

          • The company is 102 on the Fortune 500 list, it’s doing great.
            Why wait for winter to procrastinate? Procrastinate now! I love that phrase.
            I run out of ideas all the time but if getting older has tough me anything it’s that you can’t get depressed about it and you have to take it in stride. It’s part of the process.

    • Thanks, Habakuk. I wanted to convey something other than just the clouds for this project and I experimented with other techniques before setteling on this. I’m glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

