12 9 13

# 9139

# 9139

15 responses to “12 9 13

    • Thanks, Mel. I would like to convert these to black and white not because I don’t like the color but just out of curiosity. Maybe it’ll be material for another post.

        • Since I had a cancellation this morning I decided to use the time constructively and try a conversion. I took two photos from this shoot, including the one above, and did a conversion in Black and White Effects without and additional filtering. As with any conversion, the success of it is purely subjective. The photos are complicated in structure with a lot of lines and patterns and, without color, allow the viewer to concentrate on the lines and patterns. Initially, it was the color of the light on the glass that caught my attention, and I’ve tried to preserve it in these photos. Now I see a different set of photos when the color is removed. I can see another post in the future with the converted files and perhaps some others that I haven’t processed yet.

          • I will be watching for the b&w versions!

            My late mother-in-law, paging through an Ansel Adams book at my house, said, “These would be a lot better if they were in color.” So obviously not everyone has an appreciation for b&w work….

          • Yes, Mel, stay tuned.
            Most folks know Adams for his breathtaking black and white photos of the Southwest but he also worked in color later in his career. His color work, though not widely known, was beautiful and showed a great understanding of the nature and subtlety of color. I think that if color had been available to him in the early years he would have embraced it wholeheartedly.

          • I have a book of his color work and it IS very good. But a little hard to get my mind around.

            (There was a time when I aspired to be The Next Ansel Adams. I’ve gotten over that, and have decided that being THE Melinda Green Harvey is actually a pretty OK gig.)

  1. That’s one lucky tractor to have a place like this to stay indoors. But I had to look a long time to spot the tractor. Each pane is so different, like you assembled them from many different shot.

    • Thanks, ehpem. At first I was distracted by the tractor and I toyed with the idea of cloning it out. The more I looked at it the more it blended in for me, maybe because the color fit in so well with the other colors. Also, I think the tractor gives it a little bit of reality in an otherwise abstract image.

  2. Layers upon layers – it has some of the characteristics of a composite or montage. The foreground grid is so strong. I’d love to see what it looks like in B&W too. Ken. I would think you could spend quite a while here finding new/different images.

Leave a Reply

